Black People : POLITRICKS(democrats in particular)

afrostotle

REGISTERED MEMBER
Jun 17, 2003
Spokane, Washington
Occupation
My occupation is whatever I do that requires focus
Greetings all:

It's that time of season again. You know, the one that comes about every four yrs or so, when the would-be candidates put on their best "Minority-friendly" song and dance. I guess this time they forgot about us. Or maybe its just the annual NAACP Convention they forgot about!

Actually, Kweisi Mfume's office had to re-send notices last week, when they noticed gone missing from their stack of r.s.v.p.s', were the acknowledgement of planned participation of several so-called front runners for the Democratic nomination.

At first, I was offended by the fact that those same candidates, Gephardt, Lieberman(who definately should know better), and Dean to name a few, are continuing to campaign (harder it would seem) more openly for the Hispanic vote.

Infact, Gephardt and Lieberman will both be attending a celebration put on by the largest Hispanic American political organization. Then I started to piece it together; In light of the recent census report, which made a big-to-do in announcing that Hispanics and Asians have surpassed African Americans as the largest minority group in America (as if that's something to boast about). It is no wonder the vultures that usually hover around the community at voting time, are taking their broken promises elsewhere. Maybe this is a chance to make a break from the ill-intended courting, and consider bringing our own date to the dance.

This should come as no suprise, in fact, I feel the less outrage we demonstrate over this and several other blatent exclusions, the more others will get the picture that we as a people have evolved from the role of dependents, to the role of inedependence.

Peace, Power, and Prosperity to us all!