Black People : California's "Gray" Area

afrostotle

REGISTERED MEMBER
Jun 17, 2003
Spokane, Washington
Occupation
My occupation is whatever I do that requires focus
Greetings to the entire Family,

I was wondering; Out of all the black folks that live in California, why are we not trying to get in on the election? I am truly ignorant to the current political state of affairs on the "Left Coast".
I guess Pete Wilson and his attack on Affirmative Action took the wind out me. So If there is a Sista or Brotha out there whom can shed some light on the subject, and help me understand what this potential recall means for Blacks in that state I would be humbly appreciative.

Peace, Power, and Prosperity to All

hmmm...

My brotha the recall dont mean **** for blacks in CA.

As far as affirmative action goes...The campaign to remove affirmative action in CA is currently being run by a brotha, whose name slips my mind at this moment. It is the position of many in the African-American community, that they would rather plough through JC for 2 years, and tough it out to an Ivy league school, than to let some, clandestine prejudice white politician, give an academic pity pass to lessen his/her own guilt of not caring b4 someone even got that far into the school system.

They havent removed it completely. Now the current "affirmative action" is one where they look at household income rather than race. It was the argument of many facist white politicians and lobbyists FOR affirmative action that "colored californians" (their terms not mine) NEEDED affirmative action to get into school because quote "they do not have enough academic backing to do it on their own". Though that is not the problem...as you and I know...there are plenty intelligent brothas and sistas out there. The system has managed to keep the dollars out of there pockets so...