Audio Video Web Conferencing : Why Why Why?

Discussion in 'Audio Video Web Conferencing' started by Holly Wood, Jan 28, 2003.

1. Holly Wood

Holly Wood Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Destee,

Just wanted to know what exactly prompted the change? Could the Eshare solution not be migrated or transferred? It was really a bit smoother from an operation standpoint.

This one seems rather cumbersome.

2. Destee

Destee destee.com STAFF

United States
    Ratings:
    +9,686
    Hey HollyWood :love:

Our eShare chat provider went out of business. They gave me two weeks notice prior to closing their doors. I have been using their services since 1999, all comfortable and relaxed, so this came as quite a surprise.

I did not have my own eShare license, but rather leased the use of the eShare software through them. In addition, they hosted and supported the product. The option to migrate or transfer "my license" did not exist. Purchasing an eShare chat license is expensive. I'm not sure exactly how expensive but when I checked some time ago it was thousands of dollars (based on a certain number of users), and I'd imagine it's much more now. While I want to continue providing chat as I have since 1999, it has to be reasonable in regard to cost.

Being faced with having to find an alternative chat solution gave me the opportunity to find one that could use the same database as the forum. As you probably know, the database for the chat and the database for the forum were different. This meant that a Member had to register in both places, two separate logins and all that kind of carrying on. This situation prompted me to find a solution that would integrate the chat and forum, using the same Member database, having one username/password for both features. To me, this is really the up side of this whole situation.