Science and Technology : Why I gotta be a "Geek"?

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by skuderjaymes, Dec 25, 2009.

1. skuderjaymes

skuderjaymes Contextualizer Synthesizer MEMBER

Japan
    independent thoughtist thinker, context linker
    theory to application to discussion to percussion
    Ratings:
    +6,043
    I'm a tech guy.. hardware, software, programming, networking, you name it..
    I've done it as a hooby.. as a profession.. taught it at a college.. written about
    it.. etc etc.. I so want to participate in this forum.. but the name "Geek" is
    offensive to me.. it has a negative connotation and it saps my energy as soon
    as I see it. I would make a suggestion but.. .. .. exactly.. so I'm here venting
    instead.. What's wrong with the word "Technology" or "technological innovation"
    or something positive.. ??? I'm aware that some people may take
    pride in the word geek.. because it separates them from the crowd.. and thats
    fine.. but why risk offending anyone? Why not just use a name that is neutral.
    If the Black Women's section was called "ebony honeys" some folks might think
    that was cute, while others would surely be offended.. think about it.

2. 360

360 Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +148
    I guess it's just

CHOOOCOLATE RAAAAIN
    Some stay dry and others feel the pain
    CHOOOCOLATE RAYEEEEAAAAIN
    A baby born will die before the sin

3. anAfrican

anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

United States
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Ratings:
    +745
    it's just a phrase that means "tech guy" - what the problem is?

out of curiosity, do you have a problem with "master/slave" as it is used by the industry?

listen to the media; what we calling ourselves these days? and i grew up taking our cake-cutters to fools that come like folks do today.