Black People : Why have I been avoiding relationships?

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by Lady~Mahogany, Aug 27, 2010.

1. Lady~Mahogany

Lady~Mahogany Member MEMBER

Student
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm 21 years old and by now I should've already had my first real boyfriend, right? Well, actually, in my case I've never been in a relationship. I thought it was because of my insecurities. But, as of late, I've realized that I just simply don't want to be bothered. Recently I've noticed that every time someone starts trying to get close to me I always start avoiding them. Or I'll get nervous when I see them coming, and I'd always feel like turning around and walking the other way. I don't know what it is. Do y'all think you can give me a few clues as to what can be making me feel this way? I'm stumped...

2. StefiA

StefiA Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +215
    OK - first I've got to say I'm no expert in psychology or anything and have plenty of, actually no, lots of hang-ups / insecurities myself...
    I'm just a 24yr old female who has had relationships..

Do you feel that you're actually scared of getting intimate with a guy - of the physical side of things?
    Are you scared that once you are in a relationship that YOU are going to get swallowed up in the WE - that you'll lose some of your identity?
    It might still be feelings of insecurity that are behind this even if it now comes out as a can't be bothered feeling?
    Do you know why you feel insecure?
    Are you afraid of getting hurt emotionally? of being rejected?
    Do you actually feel as though there's no reason why any guy would really find you attractive? (one I suffer from)