Black People : Why do we call ourselves Afrikans?

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by muslimgurl, Dec 12, 2008.

1. muslimgurl

muslimgurl Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    As Salaam Alaikum family,
    I'd like to start by saying that this question stems from curiosity and not from judgement. I am new to the Destee family and I have noticed that here we use the word Afrikans when referring to one another. I personally beleive that we are original people from which all others derrived and are not limited to one continent. So if some one could give me their point of veiw I would appreciate it.
    Peace

2. free2b_me

free2b_me Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +10
    I believe that we are originally AfriKan people as a race. The term Blacks, Colored, Knegros are derogitory names that white people gave us when referring to our skin color and not acknowledging us as a bonafide ethinic race. The term AfriKan AmeriKan, is acknowledging our race in AmeriKa... my opinion....:qqb007:

3. Da Street So'ja

Da Street So'ja Banned MEMBER

thrivin' spiritually/physically/emotionally/financ
    Ratings:
    +42
    ok

I say Africans in the purest sense are limited to ONE continent: Africa
    it sure ain't Asia or Australia or South America

while i don't refer to myself as someone who is a first generation african
    my family was brought here 10 generations ago or so more or less i still identify with Africa, i recognize it as my place origin

my place of origin is not America, Europe, Australia, Japan, China or India

my existence stems from Africa

i know Africa is a continent and i don't know exactly where my family
    originated from but i do know it was Africa

All Black People originated from Africa YOU MUST IDENTIFY WITH IT SOMEHOW
    even though i/you have never been there we are still a part of it

if you think you come from America or England i would say you are sadly mistaken yes you might have been born there, but it is NOT your place