Black People : Why do some People HATE Christmas?

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by sweet apple*pie, Dec 28, 2008.

1. sweet apple*pie

sweet apple*pie Well-Known Member MEMBER

I am a student, and all though it is hardwork, it
    Ratings:
    +30
    You know....

The holidays are not an excitable time for all.....

Many view the holidays as a depressing time. They hate everything about it. The lights, the crowds at the mall, the decorations, the fake cheeriness....

Many are holding their breath until the whole ordeal is over....so they can forget about it until next year. They view the whole experience as over-rated. It can actually cause anxiety for many, and make many feel uncomfortable.

But why is this so?

I caught myself singing a Christmas song in the shower today, (Chestnuts roasting over an open Fire, to be exact), and all of sudden I was overcome with...saddness. I thought to myself, "Why does this song, or many Christmas songs, make one....sad?" I think I am going to research holiday depression....makes for interesting conversation.

Is it perhaps, that these songs remind us of happier times? Like Childhood? Times we can never get back? Does it seem like the good times are all in the past? I would love to hear your thoughts on this.

:spinstar: sweet apple*pie

2. Shadey

Shadey Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +2
    For some they don't have a partner to celebrate it with and it reminds them of how lonely they are.

3. sweet apple*pie

sweet apple*pie Well-Known Member MEMBER

I am a student, and all though it is hardwork, it
    Ratings:
    +30
    I think this is a great start...

But I think it goes much deeper than that...

I really believe that the past has something to do with it.... Maybe it seems that every year, the world is getting worse?

4. anAfrican

anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

United States
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Ratings:
    +745