Black People : Why Can't I Do and Say What I Want - When I Want - Where I Want - How I Want - at Destee.com

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by KMeister, Jan 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KMeister

KMeister Banned MEMBER

United States
    Ratings:
    +242

I have read more than one supposition over the years that Baraka's words castigating homosexuals was due to his own closeted homosexuality. It's a plausible notion.

I'm no expert on poetry but I thought his "Somebody Blew Up America" poem was hyperbolic nonsense. However, when you fire someone (which is what it effectively did when the New Jersey legislature abolished the poet laureate position) you have to pay off his contract. The should have just paid him his money.

I respect that he was a writer who continued to evolve his entire life.

A man accused of being anti-Semitic who dies at Newark Beth Israel Medical Center. Now that's --pardon the pun--poetic justice.

KM

• Disrespectful Disrespectful x 1
    • List
  2. jamesfrmphilly

jamesfrmphilly going above and beyond PREMIUM MEMBER

United States
    retired computer geek
    Ratings:
    +13,745
    STFU! please!

3. KMeister

KMeister Banned MEMBER

United States
    Ratings:
    +242
    KMeister wrote:
    I have read more than one supposition over the years that Baraka's words castigating homosexuals was due to his own closeted homosexuality. It's a plausible notion.

I'm no expert on poetry but I thought his "Somebody Blew Up America" poem was hyperbolic nonsense. However, when you fire someone (which is what it effectively did when the New Jersey legislature abolished the poet laureate position) you have to pay off his contract. The should have just paid him his money.

I respect that he was a writer who continued to evolve his entire life.

A man accused of being anti-Semitic who dies at Newark Beth Israel Medical Center. Now that's --pardon the pun--poetic justice.