Black Money Business Jobs : When Family Members Owe You Money

Discussion in 'Black Money Business Jobs' started by river, Jul 11, 2013.

1. river

river Watch Her Flow MEMBER

United States
    Author
    Ratings:
    +1,290
    I guess this thread could just as easily go in the relationship forum, but I decided to post it here because focusing on the relationship may well be part of the problem. I am in a sticky situation and want to get some other perspectives and suggestions before I act, so please share your thoughts.

I am a website designer. I've been doing work for family and friends of the family for several years but because of the close relationship (mother, aunts, uncles, etc), have not required them to stick to the fee schedule on my business website. They basically pay me when the spirit moves them. They know if they went somewhere else they'd have to pay a lot more in a much timelier fashion. It seems kinda sliek because we'll be talking about something else, say a trip to see other family members and they'll tell me how tight their money is and they hope they'll be able to make the trip. Then two or three months later, they'll want me to make extensive updates on their website. Well, I already know their money is tight, so I just do the work, trusting them to pay me when they are able.

This is how my uncles' relationship busted up. They were tight partners for decades. They kept very sloppy business records. Then one day one of them decided he was being cheated and demanded they straighten up their act moneywise. After getting a free ride for decades, of course the other brother felt put upon.