Vegetarian/Vegan on college campuses

Discussion in 'Black Health and Wellness' started by divine_1, Dec 2, 2003.

1. divine_1

divine_1 Active Member MEMBER

Life Long Learner
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a sophomore at an HBCU in Pennsylvania. I chose to attend the school because since i'm from Philly, it' s not too far from home... but neither is it too close. I have been a vegetarian all my life and my diet was also one of the first concerns that arose when it came time to choose schools. I consulted with administrators and they ensured me that they had accomodations for vegetarians and vegans. For some reason, i was satisfied. However, after after spending two weeks at the school (for the first week no one really had any complaints), i found that i had been hoodwinked. The accomodations turned out to be an almost-always-wilted salad bar, spaghetti, rice and a mixture anything left over that didn't consist of meat thrown together covered with a coating of spaghetti sauce and cheese. Now, i kno that food in college is usually distasteful, but i shouldn't have to stand there for ten minutes trying to figure out what the supposed meal consist of! I tried shopping for myself, but could not get consistant rides to and from the market and i forgot to mention that i'm not rich. The use of hotplates or microwaves are illeagel, bringing a $75 minimum fine if discovered by Resident Advisors. I even gathered a group of vegetarian students to talk to food services. We offered sugesstions and continued to voice concern. Nothing happened as a result. After completeing almost 3 semesters I am honesly tired of eating rice or spaghetti and salad day after day. Please, if you have any sugesstions, let me know ASAP, anything would be appreciated. Peace.

2. Bluewater

Bluewater Well-Known Member MEMBER

United States
    Praising The Lord
    Ratings:
    +44
    hi divine