Black People : Urban Decay in Black America

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christi

REGISTERED MEMBER
Mar 22, 2018
Hey all I'm currently working on my thesis for graduation (I'm a design student) and was hoping to get some feedback from the black community.

I'm focusing on the misrepresentation and under-representation of African Americans. The black community is often associated with intractable problems. People in color that are held in esteem, too often personify a circumscribed spectrum of human qualities. Many important dynamics that affect black lives such as a history of economic disadvantage and a prevailing anti-black bias in society aren't discussed, and when they are they're often portrayed as victims rather than as agents, leaders, and creators.

I'm examining instances of urban decay and how Black Americans fit within it - a decay that can be characterized by the declining in power, quality, and vigor of Black American culture and the literal physical decay. I'm looking at these instances of decay as a tangible, symbolic, and visual representation of the decay and demolition within the black community and culture. This is a community that has been packed into racially segregated quarters, in housing and neighborhoods that were not designed for optimizing quality of life with years of economic neglect, police brutality, and other racial conflagrations. Where whole buildings have been torn down, abandoned, foreclosed and an entire culture has been destroyed, deconstructed.