Black Relationships : Thoughts of Self

Discussion in 'Black Relationships' started by SayWord, Jan 30, 2004.

1. SayWord

SayWord Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +3
    I've been thinking and wondering about how we think of outselves as people. And are those thoughts accurate? We might think of ourselves in ways that are unrealistic. That statement swings both ways. Some people tell me that I'm a really good writer. I don't think so however. I think I'm average at best. What are these people seeing that I am not seeing? And is it possible that they see more about me that I'm not aware of? I have a friend who always claims that it doesn't matter what other people think about her, as long as she thinks positive of herself. But is that blindness? Could we think of ourselves so highly that we are unaware of the person that we really portray. Is it possible that we don't see ourselves as worthy but in actuality we are great. I've been wondering about that for sometime. Is the world's preception of you as important, more important, or less important of what you think about yourself? Some people think they are generous and giving when the reality is that they are selfish. And when comfronted with that reality they deny it. Are they living in some kind of fantasy world? As a man, I know that I've judged people on their actions. I've judged them on how they treat others and how they treat themselves. But does my opinion really matter? Does anyone's opinion of another really matter?

2. kenyatta

kenyatta Well-Known Member MEMBER

fork lift driver
    Ratings:
    +2
    no...no...no...

:read: :read: :read: :read:

quote:
    that statement swings both ways.

It sure do if you're sharing a swing with someone. How, how, how can someone, anyone swing with you on your ship? You are the captain of your ship (the ruler and keeper of your mind)

quote:
    some people tell me I'm a really good writer, I don't think so however.