Science and Technology : this is an attack!

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by jamesfrmphilly, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. jamesfrmphilly

    jamesfrmphilly going above and beyond PREMIUM MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    32,015
    Likes Received:
    11,483
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    retired computer geek
    Location:
    north philly ghetto
    Ratings:
    +13,745
    somebody is killing the site by deleting the name from the DNS.
    another week and we will be dead.
    no one will be able to get here.
     
  2. triniti424

    triniti424 Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    Singapore
    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,477
    Likes Received:
    110
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Servant of the People
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Ratings:
    +131
    what can we do??? wait... correction.. CAN we do anything?
     
  3. kemetkind

    kemetkind Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    60
    Ratings:
    +61
    If it becomes more widespread people can do what I've been doing the last month and manually map the site IP addresses to the Destee.com name using their local Host file. Destee or one of the site mods can post how to do this if they think its needed.
     
  4. spicybrown

    spicybrown Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,201
    Likes Received:
    118
    Ratings:
    +118
    You've Got Top Be Kidding!!!.......

    This is Horrible, God forbid this happens. Who in Sam #ell would wanna go there on the fam?!!:mad:
     
  5. kemetkind

    kemetkind Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    60
    Ratings:
    +61
    How to map Destee.com using your Host file...

    The host file is a text file on your computer that will be used by your net connection BEFORE it connects to any external network or computer.

    You can use it to control security, and to create aliases. In our scenario, where the DNS servers are questionable, you can use the host file to make your browser understand where to find the IP addresses for Destee.com.

    The file already exists on your computer, just need to edit it and insert the following:

    207.36.160.50 blackvoicechat.com
    207.36.125.225 www.destee.com
    207.36.160.51 NS2.DESTEE.ORG


    Please be aware, the file should be named "hosts" NOT "hosts.txt".

    Save the file with NO EXTENSION after you edit it.

    Below is the location you can find the file depending on your operating system:



    • [*]For Windows 9x and ME this file is at "C:\Windows\hosts"

      [*]For NT, Win2K, 2003 and XP use "C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts"
      or "C:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts"

      [*]For Linux, Unix, or OS X place this file at "/etc/hosts". You will require root access to do this. Saving this file to "~/hosts" will allow you to run something like "sudo cp ~/hosts /etc/hosts".

      [*]For OS/2 copy the file to "%ETC%\HOSTS" and in the CONFIG.SYS file, ensure that the line "SET USE_HOSTS_FIRST=1" is included.

      [*]For BeOS place it at "/boot/beos/etc/hosts"

      [*]On a Netware system, the location is System\etc\hosts"

      [*]For Macintosh (pre OS X) place it in the Mac System Folder or Preferences folder and reboot. (something like HD:System Folder:preferences:Hosts) Alternatively you can save it elsewhere on your machine, then go to the TCP/IP control panel and click on "Select hosts file" to read it in.


    Hope this helps...
     
  6. spicybrown

    spicybrown Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,201
    Likes Received:
    118
    Ratings:
    +118
    *exhales*......

    Good looking out Kemetkind:love:
     
  7. Riada

    Riada Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Normally, I access the internet and this site thru wi-fi, but whenever I have a problem signing on here with wi fi, and I sometimes do, I always switch to dial-up by just plugging in the phone cord, and that always solves the problem.

    The only thing is that dial-up is so SLOW!! Then later, I switch back to wi-fi and there's no problem.
     
  8. karmashines

    karmashines Banned MEMBER

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ratings:
    +19
    I can't do dial-up anymore, unless the lights are off or something.
     
  9. Riada

    Riada Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Why? What would the electricity have to do with the phone service?
     
  10. karmashines

    karmashines Banned MEMBER

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ratings:
    +19
    No... I mean if the lights are off I have to use dial-up to get on the Internet. Any other time I use cable/broadband connection.
     
Loading...