Black Authors : so called publishing companies

sarcasm4eva

REGISTERED MEMBER
Apr 19, 2003
i've recently gotten a story copyrighted and recieved an offer from a publishing company called Dorrance Publishing. i was wondering if anyone has ever heard of them? also i was wondering if anyone knows of ne publishin companies for first time writers such as myself. another thing,how do you distinguish the commercial publishers from the non-commercial(such as Dorrance)?

No, I don't think I've ever heard of Dorrance before. I have no experience with them. I am getting my book published, it got set back a bit, but I looked up a few things before I started looking around so I can help a little. I can help you with distinguishing commercial and non commercial publishers. Commercial publishers are the publishers that can give you national publicity. It is basically the major means for advertising. They produce and distribute your book in large quantities into the industry and they normally have better editing so that your book is better edited. It is a author's dreams to be accepted by publishers of this nature because the business is better and you are naturally recognized for being with them all around the world. You can go to this website to see a list of the major ones. http://lib.colostate.edu/howto/publr-com.html They have people coming to them everyday basically, they want you to have a agent so get one before even looking in their directions. Here's a address with a little more information about commercial publishers. http://www.btsf.org/ws2leefl.htm