Reaching out to nicotine dependent loved ones

Discussion in 'Black Health and Wellness' started by John R. Polito, May 5, 2003.

1. John R. Polito

John R. Polito New Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    Dear Destee.com readers and members with nicotine dependent friends or loved ones. Are you forced to watch as your loved one destroys a bit more of their body's ability to receive and transport life giving oxygen with each new puff? I write in hope that you might use a bit of the below info to reach out and help save the life of that very very special person.

There are over one billion comfortable ex-smokers alive on earth today and it was dreams and desires, not strength or willpower, that allowed each to break nicotine's grip upon their brain's reward pathways. What self-taught nicotine lessons did most eventually learn, that your loved one continues to miss?

What will your loved one actually learn from the next quick fix magic cure that fails to perform as promised? What could they possibly learn from a nicotine lozenge, an adhesive nicotine patch, nicotine gum, Zyban, Wellbutrin, hypnosis and/or acupuncture? Who will they next hand their hard earned money and after it’s gone what learning will have transpired?

Can you briefly study cessation yourself and determine their level of understanding? Let’s use the nicotine patch as an example. Just how effective do they think it really is in helping smokers quit? The following link is to a study published in March 2003 that combined the results of all over-the-counter nicotine patch studies to date and concludes that only 7% of patch users were still not smoking at six-months. Are 93% odds of early relapse critical decision making information?

http://tc.bmjjournals.com/cgi/eletters/12/1/21#88