Black Spirituality Religion : Rastafari

Discussion in 'Black Spirituality / Religion - General Discussion' started by Zulile, Aug 25, 2007.

1. Zulile

Zulile Well-Known Member MEMBER

HR/Finance
    Ratings:
    +103
    I would like to know what the viewpoints are on the Rastafari as a religious group. Emotionally, this is very close to me, but whether it has merit or not on the religious scale, I have no idea. In fact, I have little knowledge of their beliefs and would appreciate hearing from those who do.

Thanks in advance :)

2. Zacharias

Zacharias Banned MEMBER

Ratings:
    +2
    Istanjaay Ila Antuk Zulile

What are actually are you looking for ?

3. Zulile

HR/Finance
    Ratings:
    +103
    "Istanjaay Ila Antuk" I'd love a translation for that :)

My questions are clearly uninformed, so please bear with me:

Can Rasta be Christian?
    Do Rasta follow a particular doctrine - is there a written word/book to guide them?
    I know a little about JAH, and Selasie but fail to see where it fits together in terms of a religious group.

IS Rastafari a religion? If not.. what is it then?

Of course - i have read here and there - but it is rather contradictory at times - and even more so when I speak to the few Rasta I know. For example - Rasta are vegetarians, or vegans? Should they wear leather, or not?

Many say there are many "fake" Rasta out there preaching the word.. but fake compared to.. what?

4. Omowale Jabali

Omowale Jabali The Cosmic Journeyman PREMIUM MEMBER

United States
    Creative Industrialist
    Ratings:
    +9,585
    Must Reading on this topic

KEBRA NAGAST:THE LOST BIBLE OF RASTAFARIAN WISDOM AND FAITH FROM ETHIOPIA.