Black Parenting : Positive Characters for Black Children

Discussion in 'Black Parenting' started by Kyooms, Nov 16, 2011.

1. Kyooms

Kyooms Active Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +51
    Hello everyone,

I am new to the forum. My name is Tamara, I black woman from the Caribbean originally.

Nice to meet all of you :)

A little about myself, I am a young artist, living in the U.S, and a (hopefully soon) entrepreneur.

I'd like to use my talent to spread love, tolerance and other positive messages to small
    children, through the creation of a series of cartoons.
    I was wondering what your thoughts as fellow black persons are on the state of positive images for black children these days.

When I look at our cartoons on television, I don't tend to see many black main characters, I have seen Dora the Explorer as of late which is great, but still no black characters that appeal to our young toddlers. I
    I would like to fill this void somehow, because it is very important children this young see someone like themselves being positive.

What I would like to know from all of you is how important persons in general feel this is for kids, even if you are not a parent, your input would be much appreciated.

I am actually looking around for similar forums to gather this input because I would like to analyze the diversity of opinions if any, so do not be alarmed if this post is on others, it's not my intention to spam.

Thank you :)

2. Shikamaru

Shikamaru Well-Known Member MEMBER

United States
    Ratings:
    +1,989
    You know .... one of the few Nubian cartoon characters I can think of for young children is Little Bill on Nickelodeon.

3. Shikamaru

Shikamaru Well-Known Member MEMBER

United States
    Ratings:
    +1,989
    If I had children, the values I would impart to them are:

a) scholasticism
    b) protection, safety, security
    c) self-reliance
    d) creativity
    e) critical thinking
    f) morality and justice

4. Destee

Destee destee.com STAFF