Black Parenting : Positive Characters for Black Children

Kyooms

Nov 16, 2011
Hello everyone,

I am new to the forum. My name is Tamara, I black woman from the Caribbean originally.

Nice to meet all of you :)

A little about myself, I am a young artist, living in the U.S, and a (hopefully soon) entrepreneur.

I'd like to use my talent to spread love, tolerance and other positive messages to small
children, through the creation of a series of cartoons.
I was wondering what your thoughts as fellow black persons are on the state of positive images for black children these days.

When I look at our cartoons on television, I don't tend to see many black main characters, I have seen Dora the Explorer as of late which is great, but still no black characters that appeal to our young toddlers. I
I would like to fill this void somehow, because it is very important children this young see someone like themselves being positive.

What I would like to know from all of you is how important persons in general feel this is for kids, even if you are not a parent, your input would be much appreciated.

I am actually looking around for similar forums to gather this input because I would like to analyze the diversity of opinions if any, so do not be alarmed if this post is on others, it's not my intention to spam.

Thank you :)

Shikamaru

May 7, 2011
You know .... one of the few Nubian cartoon characters I can think of for young children is Little Bill on Nickelodeon.

Shikamaru

May 7, 2011
If I had children, the values I would impart to them are:

a) scholasticism
b) protection, safety, security
c) self-reliance
d) creativity
e) critical thinking
f) morality and justice

Destee

destee.com
STAFF
Jan 22, 2001
betwixt and between
destee.com
Occupation
Website Consultant
Great idea! Wishing you much success with the effort.

As i think on it, i can't remember any (positive) Black cartoon characters growing up.