Law Forum : Police Experiences

Discussion in 'Law Forum - Prisons - Gun Ownership' started by twashing, Mar 10, 2012.

1. twashing

twashing Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +7
    I was interested, recently, to read this recent New York Times article about being young, black and frisked by the police.

I live in Toronto, Canada, and a very similar article and subject matter was printed in the Toronto Star. What was frightening and revealing to me, was the level of soft racism and dubious assumptions in the article's comments section. Now, I am a black male, and had a similar experience one night. I had rented and was driving a nice BMW (thinking of buying one). I was stopped twice by the police that evening, "just to check" against their suspicions. I was stunned the first time, and the second time had my blood boiling. I really had to bite my tongue.

Now, I feel naive. I'm a professional who's lived in other cities (including NYC) and downtown Toronto, for over 10 years (no time for a car, settling down, etc). And I had assumed that society was more or less racially equalized, enlightened, etc. - part of the human experience, being how one looks at and regards their fellow man on the street, and whatnot. So a bigoted police force is one thing. But a population (here in Toronto), that accepts and encourages this type of system, was what I found really disturbing. So I feel naive for having assumed that I was mostly regarded as a real person. Obviously not. Sad that we have to keep fighting these battles for all these centuries now. But I thought this would be helpful towards a perspective that the struggle is very much international.

2. Asomfwaa

Asomfwaa Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +2,564
    Thanks, the struggle is international and long-lived. White folk never liked us since they kicked us out of Europe over ten-thousand years ago.

HTP

3. Shikamaru

Shikamaru Well-Known Member MEMBER

United States
    Ratings:
    +1,989