Smartgurl

$$ PREMIUM MEMBER $$
REGISTERED MEMBER
Mar 20, 2001
Mobile, AL
Occupation
Full-time Student
Hey family,

I would like to make an announcement regarding the John B. Ervin Scholarship for African-Americans at Washington University. I am a sophomore at Washington University, and yesterday, the administration announced that the Ervin scholarship is no longer only for African-Americans. Starting next year, this scholarship is open to everyone. This decision was made after WashU was pressured by right-wing legal organizations (such as the one who sued University of Michigan) and threatened with a law suit based on reverse-discrimination. There are other minority-only scholarships at WashU, specifically the Annika Rodriguez scholarship for Hispanic students, however WashU was only threatened and told to change the African-American undergraduate scholarship. Washington University is not the only school targeted; these organizations are threatening many of the best universities across the nation. The African-American student body at WashU is outraged. I just thought that I would let this forum know, being that this not only affects WashU students and prospective WashU students, but also the black community as a whole. If you would like to know more about this issue, here's a link to the article in our school newspaper: http://www.studlife.com/news/2004/0...on-649597.shtml

Much love and peace to all,

Smartgurl
(a disappointed and discouraged black student)