Black People : MY GRANDPARENTS ON MY DADS SIDE.

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by freddie419, Jun 4, 2017.

1. freddie419

freddie419 Banned MEMBER

United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +498
    IMHO Jamaicans (JA) were tricked into thinking that England was a tolerant welcoming country. My Grandparents were "invited" to England from JA in the late 40s i.e., post war Britain. My Grandparents along with other JA's were promised Jobs in their chosen careers, my Grandfather was an self-taught carpenter, and my Grandmother was a midwife.

To cut a long story short my Grandmother got the job of her dreams ... something about Whites and a Black woman nurturing their children. My Grandfather on the other hand along with other skilled JA males were put to work cleaning up post war Britain's streets.

My Grandfather quickly quit his job and set out to give his countrymen what they wanted and, opened his first late night drinking den (shebeen)..Blues as they were called back then, LOL!!. My Grandfather use to say that JA's hate to spend money, LOL!! So, he opened his doors to the Irish. Prior to my Grandfathers leniency the Irish and JA's were at loggerheads competing for Jobs. However, my Grandfather unwittingly brought the two groups together with a common interest i.e., music and drinking, LOL!!.

My Grandfather went on to creating a chain of shebeens throughout Sth Manchester. My Grandfather insisted that his drinking dens were dimly lit which eventually attracted all kinds of patronage including famous footballers, actors, news castors and even famous AA Motown artists...the four tops, Desmond Decker etc. However, his shebeens also attracted cops and, of course they wanted a cut of his lucrative enterprise. To cut a long story short my Grandfather was bent on cutting the cops out and he eventually ended up in prison where he died of a heart attack. RIP.