Black People : Music, Math and Race

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by oldsoul, Aug 10, 2002.

1. OldSoul

OldSoul Permanent Black Man PREMIUM MEMBER

United States
    Staying Alive
    Home Page:
    Ratings:
    +976
    One of the great minds of the Information Age is a Nigerian American named Philip Emeagwali.
    He had to leave school because his parents couldn't pay the fees. He lived in a refugee camp during the Nigerian civil war. He won a scholarship to university and went on to invent a formula that lets computers make 3.1 billion calculations per second. Some people call him the Bill Gates of Africa.
    A BLACK MATHEMATICIAN TALKS ABOUT RACE
    by PHILIP EMEAGWALI
    Chicago. June 16, 2001
    I am normally introduced either as a mathematician or a computer scientist. But one surprising and little known fact about me is that I am also a dancer. Three years ago, I studied African dance with the Sankofa Dance Theater of Baltimore. The reason I became interested in African dance is that I found the drumming and music to be both therapeutic and invigorating. Many mathematicians, myself included, believe that music inspires their creativity and helps them solve mathematical problems. Similarly, mathematics can help you become a better musician. In fact, many musicians believe that music and mathematics have a lot in common. In an interview, Bob Dylan said that his "songs are all mathematical songs." Someone once described dancers as poets in motion. I believe that dancers are mathematicians in motion. My dance instructor always closes each lesson by explaining the cultural and historical significance of each dance. He explained to me that Sankofa is the name of a fabled African bird whose head is always turned backwards. The origin of the word is from the Akan language of Ghana, west African. "Sankofa" means "Go back and retrieve." In a symbolic sense, the Sankofa bird is "facing the past." It symbolizes the African adage "Always remember