Computers - Software Hardware : Linux Distros and Unix OS's you love and and are not fond of :-)

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by MANASIAC, Mar 12, 2008.

1. MANASIAC

MANASIAC Well-Known Member MEMBER

United States
    Technical Analyst
    Ratings:
    +38
    Hey Folks,

I noticed some activity on the linux threads and I wanted to start this one for users of linux and unix here are my favorites:

Debian - Simply the best to me, I like the package manager Apt, and I just enjoy the robustness of the core architecture. Most popular distros are built upon debian.

Studio64 - A distro created for multimedia users, it is an awesome distro and to me is better than Ubuntu Studio because it contains less bloatware.

Red Hat Enterprise - I am a Systems admin and I really enjoy the stability of our RHEL boxes, they are gangsta.

Solaris - What can I say, simply the best Unix platform.

Distros and Unix' versions that I am not fond of:

FreeBSD - Are you serious?
    Zeus - Come on man, this thing is not great
    SUSE Desktop - This thing is Cheesy, but Samba works out of the box and LAMP does for Enterprise version.

2. rnojonson

rnojonson Well-Known Member MEMBER

electrical draftsman/pc tech
    Ratings:
    +16
    Linuxville resident

I like Xubuntu, it is Debian inside, not weighed down by KDE or Gnome.

I also like Wolvix, it is Slackware, yet smallish, portable, snappy.

DreamLinux is OK!

Dynebolic is a spicy multimedia oriented Linux, very good.

Puppy Linux is very cool, cute, radical in design, simple to use.

FreeBSD, I don't like devils or their relatives.

Fedora, big iso files, RPM packaging kind of bug me.

3. MANASIAC

United States
    Technical Analyst
    Ratings:
    +38
  4. rnojonson

Ratings:
    +16
    New Linux to play with.