Black Spirituality Religion : Islam or Christianity

Discussion in 'Black Spirituality / Religion - General Discussion' started by Luna08, Mar 7, 2009.

1. Luna08

Luna08 Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone, first I would like to thank Destee (and family) for providing such a warm positive and informative site :)

Okay, so basically I am a young woman who lost a relative at the beginning of this year and although it was something to be expected it still came as a shock to me. This affiliated with a few other events have led me to think about becoming more religious or spiritual even. My issue however is I am having a hard time choosing whether to follow Islam or Christianity; my background is traditionally Christian and though I know the main stories I cant say I was ever really brought up to actively practice it. I've never attended Sunday school or really looked at the bible and now that I am trying to study Christianity I am having difficulty grasping the concept of the Trinity such as how can Jesus be God and be the Son of God? I too find myself wondering whether Jesus really is God and whether he sacrificed himself for our sins?