Science and Technology : Is My Computer Dying?

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by river, Aug 23, 2007.

  1. river

    river Watch Her Flow MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6,458
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Author
    Location:
    Where the Niger meets the Nile
    Ratings:
    +1,290
    I've had this computer for going on four and a half years. It keeps rebooting itself for no apparent reason. Considering how much ram I have and my high speed connection it runs very slow. I almost always get the hourglass when I click on a program and sometimes the start menu freezes for a long time when I try to open something.

    Does it sound like I need to buy a new computer?
     
  2. Da Street So'ja

    Da Street So'ja Banned MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    7,648
    Likes Received:
    40
    Occupation:
    thrivin' spiritually/physically/emotionally/financ
    Location:
    where failure is not an option
    Ratings:
    +42
    no you don't need a new computer

    you have a software glitch

    and/or a virus

    someone needs to clean your machine

    and check the integrity of your registry

    and also check the integrity of your startup folder

    i fix machines

    i wish i could help you

    my prices are low (you know for the people) lol

    i use this thing called ccleaner

    see if you can download it pcworld.com or cnet.com

    but i don't think you need a new computer after 4 years of use

    worst come to worst

    you may just need to re-install your operating system

    and that should and will fix all your problem

    but whoever does that needs to know what they're doing
     
  3. river

    river Watch Her Flow MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6,458
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Author
    Location:
    Where the Niger meets the Nile
    Ratings:
    +1,290
    Gee Street,

    I wish ypu were here to help to. We got one computer repair store in town. This computer I'm on now is the one I had to buy as a result of letting them "fix" the one I had five years ago.

    Oh well, I will check out ocleaner and hopefully worst will not come to worst.

    Thanks
     
  4. Da Street So'ja

    Da Street So'ja Banned MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    7,648
    Likes Received:
    40
    Occupation:
    thrivin' spiritually/physically/emotionally/financ
    Location:
    where failure is not an option
    Ratings:
    +42
  5. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745
    nah; don't need to buy a new one, just clean the one you have.

    i hope ccleaner does some good for you (i'd advise against the optional toolbar - as i would against any toolbars); that description seems to indicate that it gets rid of lots more stuff than just using the disk clean utility on the system tools menu.

    "rebooting for no reason" sounds pretty bad; think it would be good to try to get the puter started/running with a very minimal set of drivers and/or in safe mode and do lots of scanning: adaware, spybot s&d, spywareblaster, and an antivirus program (i prefer AVG). if you've been running a nortons/symantec/macafee/whatever_it_is and are in this state anyway, i'd have to question the value of said offerings. (but it might be as hard to clean them out as it can be to clean up the messes that sometimes slips by them.)

    but if ya just gotta throw it out and buy a new one; holla and i'll see if i can come up with shipping costs! <grin!>

    Good Luck to ya!
    me

    ps; thanks for the card - flash doesn't seem to be working very well in linux so haven't seen it.

    pps: i'm not sure that i have a puter that is younger than 5 years ...


     
  6. Da Street So'ja

    Da Street So'ja Banned MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    7,648
    Likes Received:
    40
    Occupation:
    thrivin' spiritually/physically/emotionally/financ
    Location:
    where failure is not an option
    Ratings:
    +42
    um

    ccleaner doesn't offer a toolbar

    and i'm against toolbars

    unless you really are looking for what they offer

    i use google toolbar for pop ups and then i make it non-active so it doesn't tie

    up my system resources
     
  7. Metaverse

    Metaverse Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,772
    Likes Received:
    421
    Occupation:
    Media Designer
    Location:
    Within.
    Ratings:
    +424
    I had a system back in the day that did things like that. I went into my temp internet folder and deleted everything there. I know that's something most people who frequent the net don't do. Overtime, there are tons of files in there just taking up space. Most cleaners do that for you, and delete those crazy 0 kb files. It does sound like adware and a few bots running around on your system too.

    These days I cut the corners and just do a fresh OS install, since all my data is backedup on an external drive anyway. Or I'd just rip the brain out (Hard drive) and put in a new one and see how that runs. If a new hard drive gives the same problem, these issues are in the motherboard..which might be unlikely.
     
  8. Zulile

    Zulile Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    100
    Occupation:
    HR/Finance
    Ratings:
    +103
    I've had this PC going on 6 years.. I've built (by trial and error) up so many things into it, the tower no longer fits over all the..*stuff* sticking out of it :)

    My PC rebooting itself was the first thing that went wrong with my PC when it reached a certain age. I tried all sorts of virus scans, PC clean-ups etc - until I bowed to the hardware experts - I am fortunate to have a number of PC hardware experts at my disposal (employees :) ).. and the first thing they ALL recommended was to get a new power supply. I did - real cheap - and the self rebooting issue was solved.

    as far as speeding it up, definitely clear up your hard drive and scan regularily for bugs/spyware...

    eta - I should add that my PC started rebooting by itself at an increasing rate.. once in awhile became once every sitting (of a few hours) to twice every sitting.. to a point where it seemed I spent more time rebooting that actively cruising the net...
     
  9. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745

    Note: CCleaner includes an optional Yahoo toolbar that you may choose to install along with the program. Installing this toolbar may trigger alerts from some spyware programs. CCleaner's makers assert that CCleaner is spyware-free.


    pretty much anything that will keep content on your puter updated is a potential threat. it's not so much that the companies don't believe in "Do No Evil", but that these "browser helper objects"/toolbars do provide an open pipe into your puter that someone of a more malicious bent might use for, possibly, nefarious purposes.

    most browsers have pop-up blockers built in; why add anyone else's?

    and about those search-your-puter toolbars? or those services that target advertising based on what is in your messages or on your puter? those are all vectors for the mess that could be causing the issue here and others.
     
  10. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745
    Which reminds me; after a bunch of years, puters and power supplies build up an awful lot of dust. and at heavy enough concentrations, dust is conductive. now, me; i'd take the power supply out and open it to clean it out. but a vacuum cleaner might stir enough loose to clean out some of it.

    also, over time, chips creep: had a lady drive over 50 miles one way to pick me up for a puter problem. fired it up, saw the problem, shut it down, opened it up, looked around, pushed down on a couple of the socketed chips (and actually heard them seat), closed the puter up and it was fine. she didn't believe me, but i didn't even pull out any floppies or CDs.

    but, i wouldn't be surprised to find that "dust bunnies" are among the top "bugs" that puters get!!

     
Loading...