Black Travel : "I'm Black and I Travel!" is...

Discussion in 'Black Travel' started by galan05, Oct 7, 2009.

1. galan05

galan05 Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +5
    1) A statement of fact.

2) A state of mind.

3) The name of a blog dedicated to travel and encouraging people of color to see more of their world, and bringing together black organizations dedicated to travel.

4) ALL OF THE ABOVE.

Peruse at your leisure. Offer your comments, suggestions, encouragement, criticisms, ideas for topics.

Cost: Not a dime.

Potential benefits: PRICELESS.

Being a newbie, I can't post links here yet, but no worries. Just Google the title -- "I'm Black and I Travel!" -- to find the blog. Visitors always welcome.

See you "out there!"

g.

2. Corvo

Corvo navigator of live MEMBER

United States
    Furniture maker, a sculptor, and fight instructor
    Ratings:
    +1,771
    This is a great idea!

I once met a young black woman in Natchez, MS, who proudly proclaimed that she’d never once left town and never would. This, to a man whose most prized possession is an expired passport with visa stamps from 15 countries. That fact has prompted some people of color to wonder if I’m actually white.

To them, I owe the title of this blog.

Some of “us” seem to feel that if you’re black, you’re supposed to stay within your own little cultural box, curiosity fettered, mind shackled, eyes wide shut.

I refuse.

Travel opens your eyes, broadens your mind. It inspires and it humbles. You return knowing your world, and yourself, a little better. So we’ll be talking here about travel — tips, ideas, memories of the road. Maybe you’ll be inspired to “get out there.”

I hope so, because it’s your world — and as my friend Shay Olivarria says, “the world is bigger than your block.”

Hi,