Black Men : Hello / My Identity as a Young Black Man

Discussion in 'Black Men - Fathers - Brothers - Sons' started by ZYDECO, Mar 9, 2011.

1. ZYDECO

ZYDECO Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +4
    Hello, I am 24 years old and I just thought to share this with you all to see if I can get some feedback to help me.

Recently, I have been angry and struggling with the world wondering why the world hates me so much as a "black male"? I mean I have been a productive U.S. citizen by abiding rules, not having any felons, never been arrested. Its like when I reached the age of a man, I realized what the world is and how they view us as a people an especially as a black man and it hurts bad. I have a Master's Degree and I have had a full time job within the past 4 months. But for some reason I look at the world and it seems to treat me very unfairly? Am I a monster? AM I made to be hated? Am I a alien? WHy does the world hate me so much? Why cant I get a fair chance like everyone else?

Has anyone had these similar feelings?

2. PurpleMoons

PurpleMoons Administrator STAFF

United States
    Ratings:
    +1,102
    Hi ZYDECO, and Welcome!:wave:

I'm not a Black man but as Black people we all have felt this. Some people in this world seem to need someone they can stomp on to lift themselves up. As difficult as it may be, you must be the one to determine your own self-worth. There are people who are secretly hurting and are in some type of mental pain. They can not give a genuine assessment of your worth. Yes, it's unfair, but as long as you know who you are as a person, you keep striving to be the best that you can. Never leave your power in the hands of someone else. Your power comes from within.

:heart:

3. Chinelo

Chinelo Third Eye Is Always Open MEMBER

Removing LIES And Spreading The Truth
    Ratings:
    +1,633
    Assuming you're not a troll....i'll delve into this and speak on it....