The Front Porch : Hello Everyone! I have a favor to ask.

Jil

May 28, 2019
Hey there everyone! My name is Jil. I very much appreciate being accepted onto your awesome community site. I was looking all over the internet for the perfect site where I could gather info. You see, I’m an author. I’m writing a book based in the “New Adult” spectrum. It’s a superhuman fiction novel full of diverse characters and exciting plot. One particularly beloved character of mine is a young woman named Mimi. She is from Louisiana and controls the power of Electricity, to put it simply. Why I am mentioning this is because I have come to this site to find my muse- someone who can help me breathe life into this character. Mimi is the epitome of fun; she’s a technological genius, too. She is kind, loving, powerful, silly, and very beautiful. She appears to be 24 years of age like all of the other major characters, though since they are all essentially immortal, their true ages vary greatly.

I am looking for any mid-twenties Black women to help me to bring this fantastic character to life. I want to do her so much justice. I want to help create a strong, Black, female lead character in a (hopefully) upcoming novel that will be inspiring and refreshing to the world of literature. I want her to be as real as she can be. If you haven’t guessed yet, I am not Black, myself. I’ve been struggling and second-guessing myself when it comes to writing Mimi, wondering and worrying if my portrayal of her is real enough. It matters so much to me that every character in my book with a different ethnicity to mine is represented to the best of my ability. I brought this problem up to my husband, who suggested that I introduce myself to a forum or simply ask around for realism.