Black Women : Female Genital Mutilation Discussion

Discussion in 'Black Women - Mothers - Sisters - Daughters' started by newspirit, Jun 1, 2009.

1. newspirit

newspirit Banned MEMBER

Ratings:
    +3
    I do writing for a living and I came across some interesting resources that I thought the community might want. They are below.

Female Genital Mutilation in Ghana

http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/5681.php

Main Category: Public Health
    Article Date: 04 Feb 2004 - 0:00 PDT

Find other articles on: "Ghana fgm"

ACCRA (Ghana) - Ghanaian women's rights groups have called for stronger laws against female genital mutilation (FGM) following two landmark rulings in northern Ghana against the traditional practice.

The Ghanaian Association for Women's Welfare (GAWW) has demanded that parents who allow their daughters to have their clitoris and sometimes other parts of their vagina removed by amateur surgeons should be liable for punishment, as well as those who actually perform the cuts.

The Ghana chapter of the International Federation of Women Lawyers (FIDA) has meanwhile called for stiffer penalties to be imposed on those who carry out the traditional operation.

Image of African Countries Affected by FGM:

http://images.google.com/imgres?img...&prev=/images?q=fgm&gbv=2&hl=en&safe=off&sa=G

* This is NOT an affiliate link.

Let's discuss three issues:

1) How do African Americans stop this evil practice
    2) What causes this evil practice? Is it due to a lack of sisterhood? Cultural arrogance? Patriarchy, (where men rule)?
    3) And for women who are victims of FGM how do they enjoy sex enough to continue populating the black race.

2. jamesfrmphilly

jamesfrmphilly going above and beyond PREMIUM MEMBER

United States
    retired computer geek
    Ratings:
    +13,730
    define evil.....

3. newspirit

newspirit Banned MEMBER

Ratings:
    +3
    I'm not condemning a person's culture but when someone is mutilating body parts I define that as evil.