Black Spirituality Religion : Does the Relationship Between Christians and Muslims Follow the Color Line?

river

Watch Her Flow
REGISTERED MEMBER
Mar 22, 2004
Where the Niger meets the Nile
Occupation
Author
Not too long ago a Black man had a chicken franchise in this little Bible belt town. He had excellent food and good friendly service and a local church was a big customer buying buckets of chicken for their events. But when this church asked him to post flyers for their events he refused to do so because he is a muslim. Well when word got around enough people in this whole town stopped eating there that he had to close his doors.

My muslim friends tell me there is a repore (how do you spell that word? I have a mester's degree in English and don't know how to spell re-poor smh) between christians and muslims. While the church teaches us to fear and shun mulims when the nitty gets down to the gritty racial solidarity often prevails over religious differences.

I don't think this "re-poor" exist beteen white christians and arab/mid-eastern muslims who have no point of connection like we do in the Black community. Am I right or wrong?

I was taught that there is no racism in Islam but I disagree 100%. History and our realationship with the proponents of Islam/Arabs has been the best teacher historically and personally. At the same time, there exist a division within the Christian church as it regards color as well.

Our people in this country whether muslim or christian have a tendancy to buy what we like regardless of who is selling it. However, in what you call the Bible Belt, there exist a greater solidarity in Christian churches than up north. So it's not hard to conceive the idea that they are very aware of their economic clout and potential and will support those who support them. That situation was one of economics as opposed to religion.