Science and Technology : Cat Got My Computer's Tongue

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by river, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. river

    river Watch Her Flow MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6,458
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Author
    Location:
    Where the Niger meets the Nile
    Ratings:
    +1,290
    Hey fellow geeks,

    I am at a total loss as to what happened to the sound on my 'pute. I am using Windows Vista which tells me that my sound card is working properly and the most up to date driver for my sound card is already installed. My master volume is not muted and is at maximum loudness. The speakers themselves are turned on at max. Yet there is no sound

    I was able to use Skype yesterday with no problem but when I went to listen to wwkc there was no sound. I have not the foggiest idea what happened between the phone call and going to Firefox that obliterated my sound Someone suggested to me that Skype sometimes mutes puters but when I googled for the problem the posters at their community found that their problem ewas a Logitech webcam or a Logitech headset neither of which I have. None of their solutions worked for me.

    Also twice yesterday Windows asked me for permission to run Legacy cpl elevated.exe. Not knowing what this is I did not give permission. Maybe running it would have corrected my problem but I haven't seen the prompt anymore and don't know how to make it come up.

    I need sound to record brotha Oldsoul's classes and to listen to music so I don't go batty.

    Does anyone hear have the faintest idea what could be wrong and how to fix it?
     
  2. 360

    360 Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    148
    Ratings:
    +148
    If this is your home system that doesn't get used for anything critical, backup and reinstall.

    It would also be a great idea(assuming you haven't already)to make a slipstreamed/NLite disc in order to spare yourself the time and annoyance down the line when you'll no doubt have to do this again(assuming you plan to continue using Doze or mainly using Doze). It also wouldn't hurt to make a miniXP rescue disc(again, assuming you're fond of Doze).

    Is this your first time having an issue with skype?

    I ask because maybe you might want to explore alternatives in and outside of Doze.
     
  3. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745
    (ALL home systems are used for something critical TO THE HOME USER!! you sound like a typical point and click tech ... smh)

    looking into it, sis! ("vista"? <shudder> i've just had xp do my puter in and still working to get my stuff back. [wanted to play some games that my older box won't handle under win32 emulation.])

    this "elevated.exe" seems to be, on brief glance, something used to raise the permissions of an app to run - apparently one that needs admin privileges? [<shrug> windows and their pathetic efforts at "security" lol] do you recall which program prompted this request?

    do you get any sound out of headphones? (er ... is the skype headset disconnected?)

    um ... if it's just matter of not hearing what is coming out of your puter, i would think you could still go ahead and record something .. unless it is a sound card/system issue ...

    surfing the net for clues; will report back ... as long as i don't turn that other box on and play dink smallwood some more ... or get back to try to recover booting to my ubuntu partition ..
     
  4. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745
    scary!! do malware scanning!

    more on "RunLegacyCPLElevated.exe":

    Vista's UAC Warnings Can't Be Trusted, Symantec Says
    According to Symantec researcher Ollie Whitehouse, the way Windows Vista's User Account Control uses colors to denote trust levels can be bypassed using a program supplied on Windows Vista. RunLegacyCPLElevated.exe is designed to allow legacy control panel applets to run as Administrator, avoiding restrictions they would otherwise have. This program can be told what dynamic load library to load, and does nothing to verify what DLL it is loading. When control panel applets are loaded this way, the Standard User is prompted to allow Windows to "Run a legacy CPL elevated," with no indication as to what precisely is going to be run. The color-coded prompt panel denotes that it is something known to be part of Vista that is attempting to run, whereas in reality the DLL being loaded by the Vista application need not be a trusted application, and could, in fact, be malware.

    Whitehouse is correct in his assertions about this flaw in RunLegacyCPLElevated.exe. In a similar way that IE implements killbit control over controls it permits to run, this application and any others like it should be restricted to only running controls that have been indicated as valid. That validation should require Administrative approval and should clearly indicate whether Microsoft can determine the author and signing authority.

    Meanwhile, the only way to prevent this sort of exploitation would be to prevent RunLegacyCPLElevated.exe from running at all.

    Of course, this also assumes that consumers are going to understand the different color meanings, which is unlikely. Nevertheless, the prompt text is void of any information that any reasonable person could use to determine whether they wish to allow the control panel applet to run. Likely, this is because Microsoft intended RunLegacyCPLElevated.exe to run any old control panel applets, including ones that don't adequately identify themselves. Microsoft could have, at least, included the name of the DLL that RunLegacyCPLElevated.exe was trying to load in the prompt.

    We can expect this one to get abused at some point.

    found here
     
  5. 360

    360 Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    148
    Ratings:
    +148
    "Critical" in my opinion is a matter of someone using their system for some profession or business. In that situation I think it makes sense to patch holes in the leaky pipes that make up Doze.

    If it's for something else, considering what's available to most users today, it makes more sense to throw their stuff in storage and do a clean install rather than patching certain things. The reality is that more often than not something cannot be repaired or is only a temporary fix which ultimately leads to the system grinding to a halt or becoming an unstable mess not too far down the line. My intention with that advice is to spare the user time, money, and annoyance. Call me crazy, but I think some people prefer to spend more time using their machine than dealing with its problems. JMO
     
  6. 360

    360 Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    148
    Ratings:
    +148
    Anti-virus/spyware/malware/adware tools are impotent and they're more of a pain than anything else. The best protection for your data and personal information is common sense. It's a matter of the content/applications you use/access and how you use/access them. This is all pretty basic, so don't let someone spook you.
     
  7. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745
    only for the sake of completeness do i ask the "stupid questions": speaker jacks are fully seated? is there sound with headphones? could it be that "maximum volume" has "disrupted" the speakers? (if they are "fancy" speakers, they might have some sort of built-in protection from getting blown out by max volume.) do you get windows start up and/or shutdown sounds? notification sounds? (yeah, i know; you said "no sound" - like i said "just for the sake of completeness". if i was right there, i wouldn't have to ask - remote troubleshooting, ya know.) have you rebooted since the issue popped up?

    did skype terminate normally? were there any glitches or "huh? what was that??!"s during the phone call? was anything else running while using skype? do you notice any other oddities?

    also; "listening to wwkc": would that require flash in firefox? i don't know if firefox ever worked out their flash sound issues ...
    having run across that article about symantec's comments regarding user account controls, i'd think you might be lucky you didn't run it!! on the other hand, i trust symantec just exactly as much as i trust microsoft - not in my house on my puters!!!

    "need sound to record"?? well, i can see "[need] to listen to music so i don't go batty.", but, unless you mean "need sound system to record", i'd say go ahead and do the motions to record - you'll just not be able to hear what you are recording.

    however, if it is the sound system that has gone wonky i'd say go ahead and try uninstalling your sound drivers/applications, rebooting and re-installing your sound system.

    (absolutely no need to wipe and reinstall vista. slipstreaming a vlite install ain't appropriate at this juncture. also a techy-boutique cuteness that is a heck of a lot more complex that your problem calls for ... smdh and a "rescue disk" is something that only works if it is created before the mess happens!! what?!! rescue the system back to a sound issue???? sure, she went through some serious ms training [before your time, i do believe?] and all that stuff might even have made sense to her. but none of that is helpful in this particular situation. there might could be some minor "value" in "expending" time and energies on that stuff at some other point, but, like i said "techy-boutique cutsie stuff" ...)
     
  8. 360

    360 Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    148
    Ratings:
    +148
    [email protected] taking the piss

    Need? No, but there's nothing to be lost except a few minutes of her day and in exchange she gets a clean, faster, more responsive system.


    Um, when exactly would it be appropriate? lol

    lol@"techy-boutique cuteness"

    There's nothing techy or "boutique" or complex about nlite/vlite.

    What I was referring to is her making a modded version(with a simple app)of the miniXP rescue disc that those with Vista usually have. This would provide her with a capable mini Doze environment to run to patch something, make backups, surf, listen to music, and etc.
     
  9. river

    river Watch Her Flow MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6,458
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Author
    Location:
    Where the Niger meets the Nile
    Ratings:
    +1,290
    I tried restoring my system back to the 21st. Only managed to undo an update of avg, but still no sound. Don't have a headset just speakers and a mic.

    I can't record straight from the sound card that came with vista. Have to turn the mic to the speakers. But if the speakers aren't working...

    As for a glitch, I am trying to rememberLike trying to remember if you saw anything unusually white in a boox of salt.

    i haven't seen the e;evation.exe thing any more.

    Would my system tell me if the physical speakers have blown out? When I turn on music in windows media player the visualization dances about like everything's everything. My system does not seem to be aware that there is a problem. So maybe it is the speakers. Don't know how to test them short of buying new ones. That may be simpler than reinstalling.

     
  10. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745
    i trust that during that system restore, you had to restart the computer? did you do a full power down (cold) restart, or just a warm restart? and the speakers are still plugged in (to power and to the puter) and turned on (indicator lights). is there anything else you can plug your speakers in to? do you have another set of speakers around?

    <cringe> "system restore" ... whew ... ain't touchin that. [ ;) much :lol:]

    REDO THAT UPDATE!!


    too bad about not having any headphones; can't think of a better way to find out if your speakers still work ... not that i think they don't ... unless - do you recall how they sounded the last time you heard them? did the sound quality get all scratchy, intermittent and then cut out? but i think you could tell if the speakers went out.

    no, i think something just didn't "let go" of the sound system completely. you say media player does the "light show", well, at least we know that that still works. (but i've long doubted that these "visualization effects" are anything like "ye olde schoole" "beat activated" visualizations that they pretend to be - so i'm not all that sure that i'd count that as heavily as i would have.)

    sorry, but i'm gonna hafta call this one. the sound card didn't come with the copy of vista that is installed in that machine; the sound card came with the computer and vista "needs" software to get the sound back and forth between the card, the music application and the speakers. also, there is just no way that you can not record a signal that is inside the puter from inside of it; that signal should not have to come out the speakers and go into a mic ... unless you just want to have the mic live while you are recording something, but you don't have to do it that way.

    (i hope vista ain't changed this mess too far from the changes xp changed to from the changes 98se changed to from the changes 98 had made to 95's volume control panel ...)[why they gotta keep changing? still does the same dadblamed thing!!!]

    that one is a "simple" configuration issue:

    1. double click on the speaker icon in your system tray.

    2. select the options menu item. (the "menu bar" is right under the "window title bar" - it generally has things on it like "file", "edit", "view", "options", etc.)

    3. select "properties" on the "options menu" drop down menu.

    4. (on xp pro, you'll see "adjust volume for: "playback", "recording" and "other". select "recording". when the selections change, select "stereo mix" (and any others you want to record from: "line in", "microphone", "cd", etc.). click "ok". on the next screen, you should see the same set as was checked on the last screen, hopefully, at least "microphone", "cd" and "stereo mix". underneath the slider, you'll see a check box labeled "select" - that's the one that is being recorded from. if it is "microphone", then you'll have to use the microphone to record stuff from your speakers and get all the stuff in the room along with the recording. if it is "stereo mix", you'll record what is coming through your sound card into whatever application you use to record with.)

    (on xp home you'll see "adjust volume for:" just the same, except that, only one of them is active. check the "mixer decice" drop down to see if it says "input" or "output" at the end of your sound card name. (btw; if we wind up going the re-install sound card drivers route, you'll need to have that name in order to find the appropriate drivers, although vista should have them right to hand.) when you change that "<device name> output" to "<device name> input", the recording check box will no longer be greyed out and you can select "stereo mix". and then check to see which is "select"ed.)

    now that "should" allow you to record whatever your puter is "hearing" ... whether you can hear it or not.



    now that's a scary thought - have you been dealing with that many glitches? ... oh, wait - you did say "vista" ...:grin:

    well, i hope that that is a good thing. something wanted you/vista to give it administrative privileges to do something; do you recall which application was asking for that?

    could be simpler; definately more expensive, since reinstalling the sound card drivers ain't gonna cost nothing and is, actually, "simpler" that what is entailed with a "system restore".

    as to whether the os could tell you if your speakers are going/gone, if that "feature" were included, it would prolly be a much more expensive system!

    now, we've been all over everywhere but where we need to be to get your sound coming back out of your speakers. if you want to do that little piece of work, let me know and i'll pen an opus to that effort - this one done got to be tooooooo long!! lol but this one should allow you to do recording from within your system rather than using the microphone. (and when you want to use your microphone for recording, go back to the "recording"/"<device name> input" page and change it back from "stereo mix" to "microphone".)

    [ ;) much :lol:](true; you only make a couple mouse clicks to restore a system, but the system does a good bit more than that: if there was any malware that got caught and shunted aside since then (even that which was caught by the "protection" that is running in the background ... *cough*hogging resources*cough**cough*interfering with other stuff trying to hog those same resources <ahem> that are now no longer available to you while you try to do what you want to do ... like record something *cough* [yeah, i am suggesting "turn it off"!] oops! sorry; got carried away) that malware gets re-installed by the system restore!! and that could just complicate stuff in whole different directions! - ok; enough anti-system restore rant - and that whole "indexing" bit!! <shudder> windows is something that i want someone else to clean off my shoe .. better yet; just toss them and get a new pair!!!!!!!!!!!:lol:;))
     
Loading...