Black People : Can You Swim?

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by medusanegrita, May 15, 2010.

?

Can You Swim?

1. No, not at all. Will sink like a boulder.

5 vote(s)
    20.0%
  2. No, but I can float.

1 vote(s)
    4.0%
  3. Beginner - float, dog paddle, movement above water.

1 vote(s)
    4.0%
  4. Intermediate Swimmer - can do some strokes, tread water

9 vote(s)
    36.0%
  5. Advanced Swimmer

9 vote(s)
    36.0%
  1. medusanegrita

medusanegrita Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +565
    I hear often that black people can't swim, don't want to swim, and often scared of water so they never learn how.

Black women dont' want to swim because it might mess up their hurr...

So can you swim? Please answer the poll and comment as you wish.

I love swimming and it is my favorite form of exercise and sport. I will swim whenever and wherever, even if I feel too tired to do any other exercise.

I am an intermediate swimmer, self taught. I can float, do regular breastroke, swim backward, tread water, and dive in the deep end and come back up.

I can not dive in shallow water, and I when I lost something in the pool and it hit the bottom, I wasn't able to go get it because I can't swim underwater.

I thinking/hoping I can become a lifeguard, but from the lifeguards I have talked too I pretty sure I can't pass the test yet. But I never checked into that directly.

2. bientempo

bientempo Well-Known Member MEMBER

Dominican Republic
    Ratings:
    +165
  3. Full Speed

Full Speed Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +1,045
    I am an intermediate swimmer. My family and I just went swimming yesterday afternoon. We live about 10 minutes from a nice lake and spend a lot of time there. We have a boat and a jet ski. During the summer months, we go to the lake about twice per week. We pull the kids around the lake on a tube then we usually go to the middle of the lake or some remote spot on the lake to jump out and swim.