Science and Technology : can an idiot (me) swap PCI cards?

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by jamesfrmphilly, May 19, 2006.

  1. jamesfrmphilly

    jamesfrmphilly going above and beyond PREMIUM MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    31,994
    Likes Received:
    11,478
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    retired computer geek
    Location:
    north philly ghetto
    Ratings:
    +13,732
    i got 2 USB 1.1 ports on my box.
    i wanna swap that for 4 USB 2.0 PCI card.
    can i just open up da case and pull the old one out and put the new one in it's place?
     
  2. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745
    you ain't no idiot!! at least you know the terminology! <g>

    short answer: yes, just plug it in. may not be anything to pull out, tho ...

    typically, those 2 ports are integrated into the motherboard. looking at the back of the puter; if the usb ports are up by the mouse/keyboard, as opposed to further down the case in one of those "slots", then it is integrated. if they are down the case further, then they may be on a card, which can be removed.

    off the top of my head, i'd say that you could open the case and plug the card in. there may or may not be some configuring needed after putting the new card in; if so, you'll get that "new hardware found" message. (oh! does the new card come with a cd or a floppy? if so, any needed drivers would be on there; if not, configuration may not be needed ... ) on the other hand, you might have to go into the BIOS and disable the on-board usb ... maybe. again; all off the top of my head with no clue as to what your puter configuration (motherboard type, bios brand, age, etc.) might be.

    plug it in and see what happens?
     
  3. Slowly

    Slowly Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    electronic technician
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just make sure the computers off and grounded. Static electricity is not your friend, so try to keep one hand on the computer case and try not to touch any contacts.
     
  4. jamesfrmphilly

    jamesfrmphilly going above and beyond PREMIUM MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    31,994
    Likes Received:
    11,478
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    retired computer geek
    Location:
    north philly ghetto
    Ratings:
    +13,732
    the ports are down on the bottom with the other cards.
    i could remove that card and put in a USB 2.0 card.
    what i want to know is that all it takes? is it all done in the card?
    how do i know if my motherboard is compatible with 2.0?
    is it as simple as swapping cards?

    i have an ASUS P4T socket 423 INTEL 850 chipset.

    i'll go back and ask the guy who built it for me.
     
  5. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745
    i would think that that motherboard would handle 2.0. did the new card come with a CD or any floppies?

    it truly should be as simple as swapping cards. as i said; if not, you'll get that "new hardware found" wizard, in which case, just slip in the CD. if it has no CD or floppy, i'd opine that it would be all the way "that simple".

    was there any documentation with the card? does it claim "plug and play"? i'd say just plug it on in.
     
  6. jamesfrmphilly

    jamesfrmphilly going above and beyond PREMIUM MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    31,994
    Likes Received:
    11,478
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    retired computer geek
    Location:
    north philly ghetto
    Ratings:
    +13,732
    i have not bought the card yet.
    i'll go to the store and read the fine print.
    i was just wondering it the USB stuff was handled all on the card.
     
  7. anAfrican

    anAfrican Well-Known Member MEMBER

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    The Meek !Shall! Inherit the Earth.
    Location:
    StreetNationEarth: Seattle
    Ratings:
    +745
    OH! i thought you had the card.

    yeah; read the fine print ... or as they say "RTFM" ("fine" manual").

    more than likely, it'll just work. if it isn't all handled on the card, there will be a CD with any drivers it might need. but i would think it would be handled on the card - i haven't tried one, yet.
     
Loading...