Black People : Black Women and Romance Novels

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by Nic, Sep 8, 2009.

1. Nic

Nic New Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    Hey All,

My name's Nic and I'm new to the site.

I stopped in because I was hoping to get some help with an assignment from my journalism class (I'm a freshman in college) and I thought this would be the best place to start.

I need to put together a presentation about why black women read black romance novels. What is it about the stories that you enjoy and how (if at all) does it relate to race?

I mentioned the assignment to my mom and aunt and they had plenty to say so I thought I'd try posting this question on some sites and seeing what i come up with. I have my own thoughts but I wanna how other women-particularly some grown ones- felt about it.

Thanks for you help guys.
    Nic

2. Destee

Destee destee.com STAFF

United States
    Ratings:
    +9,684
    Nic ... Welcome ... :wave:

I don't read romance novels, but I'd imagine someone here does, and may help you out.

Good luck with the assignment.

:heart:

Destee

3. Nic

Nic New Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the welcome destee.

i know alot of women read romance so i sure some will have something to say.

4. LindaChavis

LindaChavis Well-Known Member MEMBER

Car Sales Consultant
    Ratings:
    +147
    I dont

feel good so give me a list of specific questions and I'll respond. I dont want to do anything off the top of my head..

5. Nic

Nic New Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for responding Linda

Basically what I want to know is: as a black woman what is it about black romance novels that appeals to you? Why do you like these books?

Is it the black man-woman relationships? Is it the way the characters are portrayed? Can you identify with any of the women in these novels? If so how?

I just want to know what attracted you (as a black woman) to these books and why you keep reading them.

Nic

6. cherryblossom