Black Entertainment : Black Raopers Talkin Bout Their Mommas - Is it happening yet?

Discussion in 'Black Entertainment' started by Destee, Jul 7, 2005.

1. Destee

Destee destee.com STAFF

United States
    Ratings:
    +9,680
    Hey Family,

I'm just learning to really appreciate (this new) rap music, and as i do ... i'm wondering ... how this White dude (Eminem) make it all the way to the top of the Black rap game? Wasss really goin on yall???

That aint my main question ... so don't get stuck there ...

What i really wanna know ... is if there is a Black rap artist that has talked so ugly about their own Momma on a track ... as this White dude has?!!!

Was this a seed, planted, meant to take root, and grow, in our Brothers (and their music)?!!!

Please tell me ... aint none of our Brothers did this, have they?

Okay ... back to the original question ... wasss really goin on?! :puke:

:heart:

Destee

2. Froggy1

Froggy1 Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +2
    Naw not really he made it big that way

3. panafrica

panafrica Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +194
    You're just getting into rap Destee? You are of the generation that created the music, I find that somewhat surprising. Also you've missed important years, because in my opinion Hip Hop in the 80s and early 90s was more progressive and innovative than rap today. However, I just wanted to address your question about Eminem. He has reached his position in rap because about 90% of the people who buy rap are white people (mostly teenagers).

To answer your second question, I'm unaware of any black rapper who talks about their mother like Eminem does. However, I'm not into the music like I was in my teenage years. Also with the way an increasing amount of black people are emulating the worst of white culture (including the disrespect of parents) coupled with the number of broken homes in our community...don't be surprised if this doesn't happen at some point.

4. Froggy1