Black Education / Schools : Basic Electrical Wiring..

Discussion in 'Black Education / Schools' started by Enki, Apr 20, 2014.

1. Enki

Enki The Evolved Amphibian STAFF

United States
    Civil Eng.
    Ratings:
    +5,928
    This thread is to help those of you that would like to learn basic electrical wiring. I was an IC electrician in the Navy for 12 years. I got out in 92 and went to a trade school and became and Industrial Electrician/w PLC training. PLC stands for Programmable Logic Controller. I can write Ladder, and Relay Logic.

upload_2014-4-20_2-44-45.jpeg
    Relay Logic.

[​IMG]

Ladder Logic.

[​IMG]

PLC....

In 98, I went back to trade school and completed the Electrical Eng. Course. I worked as a service designer for five years, I used Autocad, lighting programs, and estimation programs. I also have an AA degree in Civil Eng.

Now that that is out the way, let’s begin…..

The cardinal rule to remember when doing anything with electrical wiring is this: It can KILL. All it takes is 20ma ( milli-amperes), and if taken long enough, it can be fatal. An ordinary household circuit breakers do not trip out until a fault is detected in the ampere range. Which means that a ckt brk (circuit breaker) that is rated for 10 amps, will never trip. Milli is 10 to the negative 3, a 10amp ckt brk will not even feel it.

With that said, it does not mean that minor electrical work cannot be accomplished by the home handyman, or that it should

be avoided; but it does mean that one should respect the potential for harm.

ALWAYS GIVE ELECTRICAL WORK THE RESPECT IT COMMANDS, OR IT CAN, AND WILL HURT YOU.

Taking the proper safety precautions will ensure no one gets hurt.

1) Before working with any electrical wiring make sure that there is no actual electricity flowing to the area of the house to be worked on by flipping the breaker switches - if in doubt, flip them all off to do the work safely.