Black People : Are African Americans Seen As The Enemy?

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by Sangofa, Feb 18, 2004.

1. Sangofa

Sangofa Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +2
    I have had plenty of bad experiences with numerous of Black Immigrants. They come to the U.S. with their negative stereotypes about African Americans. They call us lazy undesirable people, on welfare and they don't want to have anything to do with us. They get offended when they are mistaken as a African American. They give me the impression that they think that they are better and that we are beneath them. I get offended when they act that way because they come here & ride the coat tails of the ones who fought for us. They make me feel as if I'm their enemy and not their sister or friend. I feel that we are not appreciated at all. I find it to be quite insulting. I talked to a Professor about this and he told me not to worry about it because we don't owe them anything. I don't want that type of attitude. Are we seen as the enemy? Are we the enemy? What can be done to bring unity within the African Diaspora?

2. panafrica

panafrica Well-Known Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +194
    I don't believe I've had the pleasure of speaking with you before Sangofa, so welcome to Destee: