Ghana : Americans relocating to Ghana

Discussion in 'Black History - Culture - Panafricanism' started by Matanah, Aug 5, 2008.

1. Matanah

Matanah Member MEMBER

I work for Yah (God) and His People!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Peace and Blessings!

I'm a newbie here, and I apologize in advance if I'm posting in the wrong place... :-( Any direction is welcome! *smile*

I'm on a quest for knowledge around "African Americans" relocating to Ghana, West Africa. Citizenship, business, etc. It's my understanding that there are many "Black" americans who have decided to make Ghana their permanent home - and this is what my family and I are looking to do.

Have you, or someone you know, successfully repatriated/relocated?
    Do you have any info/tips on the process?

Anything you can share on the matter is GREATLY appreciated!

Todah! (Thank you)
    Matanah

2. Jahari Kavi

Jahari Kavi Well-Known Member MEMBER

United States
    Self Development
    Ratings:
    +523
    Welcome Brother!!! I hope you enjoy your stay here.

I must say that this is a brilliant first post, because

a.) I plan to study abroad in Ghana next summer
    b.) I had a professor this past semester who wants to get citizenship in Ghana, because I here that currently it's one of the better places to live at on the continent
    c.) I've heard that the government over there doesn't allow foreigners to gain citizenship out of fear of those citizens running for political offices, and changing the political landscape. (not sure how true this is, if I'm wrong someone please correct me)

But the trend of leaving Amerikkka to emigrate in other parts of the world is becoming a hot trend right now, because of the economy. We even have professional basketball players leaving to play overseas, because the value of the dollar continues to plummet. Does anyone know of the economic stability in Ghana currently????

EDIT

May I ask why your family is looking to move????

3. Matanah

Matanah Member MEMBER