Black People : Affirmative action

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by afrostotle, Jun 25, 2003.

1. afrostotle

afrostotle Well-Known Member MEMBER

My occupation is whatever I do that requires focus
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello my brothas and sistas of the spoken word. Greetings from Afrostotle.
    The other day as you all may be privy to, the Supreme Court issued a ruling in the case of the student at the University of Michigan, who filed a suit challenging an affirmative action policy allowing more quality points to minority students applying to the law school. This subject is often the issue of hot debates among all color lines, especially black and white.
    I personally feel that the government and the media, be it George W., Fox News, inside politcs or whatever, fuel the dividing flames of this firestorm by insisting on calling affirmative action a "quota". To make matters worse, Bill O'Reily of "the O'Reily factor, had the audacity to imply that AfricanAmericans, whom choose to support affirmative action programs, are being hypocritical seeing as how we want racial profiling when it suits us, but not when ity is used to keep our streets safe. Surely I am not the only one outraged by this particular divisive attitude.

Peace, Prosperity and Power to all

2. $$RICH$$

$$RICH$$ Lyon King Admin. STAFF

United States
    BUSINESS owner
    Ratings:
    +4,178
    indeed the impowerment move is felt ...
    welcome happy to read u .....................

3. NNQueen

NNQueen going above and beyond PREMIUM MEMBER

United States
    Ratings:
    +1,862
    Hey Afrostotle,

Surely after reading through different threads in a variety of forums here, you have noticed quite clearly that no, many of us are outraged, enraged, and engaged in many activities that open our minds and eyes to what's really happening around us, to us and by us.