Black People : advice for a white woman

Discussion in 'Black People Open Forum' started by Chesney, Nov 15, 2009.

1. Chesney

Chesney Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    I am a white female in my 40s. I am a wedding photographer. In the last few months I have shot severals weddings for some very lovely women who happen to be black. I have so enjoyed working with these women and to be quite honest I would like to do more. I have not had the opportunity to get to know any women who happen to be black until now. I absolutely do not want to sound racial or improper. I am at a loss as whats ok to say and not to say. What I mean is that I have noticed some very interesting, positive and pleasant cultural differences. I would like to comment on them and ask questions but I am very afraid to offend. I would also like to know how to advertise specifically to attract more of these clients but again I do not want to offend by asking. I would also like to know what to do to suit my business to be more accommodating to african american women. I am generally very easy to get along with and pretty easy going. I try to be careful and considerate with my friends and clients. It would not offend me to be asked about something that I did simply because I am of a different race than someone else. But I don't know that others feel that way.

I would appreciate any advice on these matters. I want to be respectful and friendly and I would truly like to know how to move forward in both personal and professional relationships.

2. cherryblossom

cherryblossom Banned MEMBER

Ratings:
    +5,560
    In order to better aid you in your solicitation for advice, as a Black woman, I would need some more information from YOU.

For example....

(A) Since you have already, professionally, photographed African American women in their weddings, what advertising was it you already had in place which encouraged/prompted those Black women to choose YOUR photography service?