Science and Technology : 3d, modeling & animation

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Kamui_R, Jun 22, 2009.

1. Kamui_R

Kamui_R Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using Lightwave 3d since the Amiga days, anybody here do 3d?

Perhaps a joint project of some kind? As you can guess I'm a hobbyist, doing mostly Arch-viz (and the occasional starship).

K.

2. jamesfrmphilly

jamesfrmphilly going above and beyond PREMIUM MEMBER

United States
    retired computer geek
    Ratings:
    +13,735
    i don't know nutin.....

can 3-D be applied to still photos?

3. Kamui_R

Kamui_R Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    Done all the time . .

If you've been to the movies or watched TV any time in these last 2 decades you've seen it done already.

Compositing is one of the main uses. You've seen the talent in front of a blue or green screen in a set then the broadcast or print version will have them in any kind of setting you can imagine, or the background can be any still or video itself.

I was going to hook up with a photographer to provide some goth and volcanic backgrounds, I guess we'll finish the project when he gets out of prison.

If the model is made into a clip map it can cast shadows on the 3d set.

My programs 'computer camera' has a number of real world lenses and real world lights can be simulated to match the illumination of the model (IES standards).Different types of film graincan also be simulated, but these days with just about everything being digital that may not be as crucial.

K.

4. jamesfrmphilly

jamesfrmphilly going above and beyond PREMIUM MEMBER

United States
    retired computer geek
    Ratings:
    +13,735
    i may try it if i ever get a new computer

5. Kamui_R

Kamui_R Member MEMBER

Ratings:
    +0
    Can be time-consuming

3d apps are not known for easy learning paths. If you get one be sure to get acquainted with a user you can ask questions of.